Conran Cone Chair. Designed by Terence Conran. 1953.

I don’t really want to part with this chair. I’ll never find another.

I love wicker, basket weave, cane, rattan, papercord (of course!). Great inside and out. (Not papercord!)

This must be one of Conran’s earliest designs. Simple form, cheap to produce – especially in this post-war period, when materials were still scarce. It featured in the Conran retrospective at the Design Museum recently. Other than that, I’ve never seen another!

It’s surprisingly comfortable (you do need a cushion in the point!). This one’s in corkingly good condition.

Buy it, if you really must. – c20home.co.uk – £275

From the front-

Image

 

From the back-

Image

Here’s a young Mr C getting comfortable.

Image

13 thoughts on “Conran Cone Chair. Designed by Terence Conran. 1953.

      • Hi, No problem, it can easily be couriered down. I shift stuff around a fair bit, and know a few reliable guys. Can you give me a postcode down there, and I’ll get some prices. It’s not usually too bad, and I could maybe split the cost. All the best, David.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

      • Hi Richard, I could get that delivered to you for £50. I could actually get it collected tonight!, and delivered at the weekend, if that suited. One of the couriers I use is heading down tonight. I would split the cost, so if you wanted to go ahead, the chair would be £275 + half of the £50. ie £300 total. Try and let me know quickly, if you can, so that I can instruct the courier. If this early pick up and delivery doesn’t suit, don’t worry, we could arrange a different time. The cost would be similar. Regards, David.

        ________________________________

      • Hi Richard That should be the invoice sent to you. The couriers name is Martin. His number is 07413588226 I’ll pay him here obviously, so nothing more to pay. He should give you a ring in the next day or two to make arrangements, don’t be afraid to give him a call. He’s always been really reliable to date. Could you give me your address? I’ll tape it onto the package. All the best, David.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

      • Thanks for the payment. I’m off to pack it up . Martin will add his wrapping anyway. Hope you enjoy it. Any problems, please give me a shout. Best wishes, David.

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

Leave a comment